School Logo

St Laurence Church of England Primary School

Learning with love and laughter

A member of the Derby Diocesan Academy Trust

Google Translate




At St Laurence, planning for each week is carried out using a topic-based and story approach, following the children’s interests and responding to specific events.


There are seven areas of learning in the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS), which activities are planned around:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development 

  • Physical Development

  • Communication and Language

  • Literacy

  • Mathematics

  • Understanding the World

  • Expressive Arts and Design


Learning through Play 

Children in the EYFS learn by playing and exploring, being active, and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outside.

Each of the 7 areas are implemented through planned, purposeful play through a mix of adult led and child initiated activities. 

We also listen to the children's interests and tailor learning to their particular needs and passions. 


Throughout the EYFS, children will be working towards the Early Learning Goals. These describe the level of attainment expected at the end of your child’s Reception year in school. 

See here the level descriptors we use to assess your child's development: 



Autumn 1 Medium Term Plan